Hi there! My name is Daniel Moreno Cordero

To this Day

To This Day project is a spoken word poem written by Shane Koyczan, and directed by the Vancouver motion graphic studio Giant Ant. The idea relays about bullying prevention in school, and it combines a poem with visuals made by animators around the world.

I decided to participate and I was assigned a 21 seconds piece which I had to animate. I decided to stick to two main colors, keep it simple and strong, and use as much cell animation as I possibly could.

Here’s the end result:

I made a couple of boards in orther to have a visual guide for the animation, although most of it changed a bit in the final composition:

Most of the animation process was based on animated masks in After Effects, and a lot of cell animation in photoshop, most of it at 24 frames per second (although there’s some fragments at 12 and 16 fps). I also played doubling textures with multiply layer mixing and a lot of moving textures, all hand made.

Here’s the beautiful video Giant Ant made to announce the project:

Update:

Luckily, my animation piece made it to the final cut. The complete video had a massive success on the internet, with a few million views in few weeks in both Vimeo and YouTube, having a big impact in the audience. Watch the ashtonishing final result over here:

There’s more information about it in:

tothisdayproject.com/

As Shane Koyczan remarked:

“My experiences with violence in schools still echo throughout my life but standing to face the problem has helped me in immeasurable ways.

I wrote “To This Day”, a spoken word poem, to further explore the profound and lasting impact that bullying can have on an individual.

Schools and families are in desperate need of proper tools to confront this problem. We can give them a starting point… A message that will have a far reaching and long lasting effect in confronting bullying.

This entry was published on 13 de February de 2013 at 12:17 AM and is filed under Animación, Ilustración, Motion Graphics. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

